IGS AISAT Award 2020 is instituted jointly by Indian Geotechnical Society (IGS) and Albertian Institute of Science and Technology (AISAT) is to promote research in the area of Geotechnical Engineering at post graduate level in Kerala State. The main objective of the IGS –AISAT award competition, conducted annually for the M.Tech Civil Engineering students of Kerala state is to promote research in the area of Geotechnical Engineering.

            The IGS-AISAT Award Competition for the best M Tech thesis in Geotechnical engineering in Kerala was conducted on Saturday 3rd October 2020 through google meet platform due to the Covid-19 pandemic situation. The program started at 9:30am with a formal function with the address by Sri. M D Nair, Chairman, IGS Kochi Chapter, Dr. S Jose, Principal, AISAT and Dr. Babu T Jose, Patron, IGS, Kochi Chapter. The selected finalists from a lot of 19 candidates presented their M.Tech thesis before the judges for the final evaluation. 10 participants shortlisted were from CUSAT, Saintgits, IES and Marian Engineering College and they presented their work before the judges. The event was judged by Dr. Anitha G Pillai and Dr. Kavitha P E. From the 10 presentations, the best 5 Thesis were shortlisted and announced on the same day. The winners were awarded during a formal function at AISAT on 18th November 2020. The best M Tech Thesis in geotechnical Engineering in the academic year 2019-2020 in Kerala state was awarded  to Ms. Anjali Satheesh of Saintgits College of Engineering, Kottayam for the thesis titled “Design and study on the behaviour of retrofitted piled raft system” guided by Dr.Hari G. The award was presented to her by Associate Manager Rev.Fr. Joseph Rajan Kizhavana. Dr.Hari G was presented citation for guiding the student who secured the best M Tech Thesis Award. The authors of the best five theses were honored with certificates of appreciation and mementos on the same day. This function was graced by the presence of Dr. Babu T Jose, Patron, IGS Kochi Chapter, Mr. M D Nair, Chairman, IGS Kochi Chapter, Dr. Benny Mathews Abraham, Vice Chairman, IGS Kochi Chapter & Head of Civil Engineering Department, AISAT, Dr. Anil Joseph, Honorary Secretary, IGS Kochi Chapter, Rev.Fr. Joseph Rajan Kizhavana, Associate Manager, AISAT and Dr. S Jose, Principal, AISAT.