The IGS-AISAT Award, for the best M Tech thesis in Geotechnical engineering in Kerala was awarded to Sangeetha K M of IES College of Engineering, Chittilappilly  for her exceptional work on  ‘Assessment of liquefaction potential using SPT and cyclic triaxial test’. The award which comprised of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 10,000/-, was presented to her, by Prof. G.L. Sivakumar Babu , IGS National President during  an august function at the seventh Praphulla Kumar Lecture on 22nd September 2018 at Hotel Mercy, Ravipuram, Ernakulam. The event was jointly organized by Indian Geotechnical Society Kochi Chapter and Association of Piling Specialists, Kochi. Prof.Dr.A.Sridharan, Former deputy director ,IISc Bangalore , Mr. M.D Nair, Chairman, IGS – Kochi Chapter , Dr.Babu T. Jose- Patron,  IGS – Kochi Chapter & Director-AISAT, Dr. Anil Joseph, Secretary, IGS Kochi chapter ,Mr. B.  Chandramohanan, President, APS – Kochi and Prof. Vincent K John- Vice Principal AISAT were the dignitaries present for this blissful event. The annual lecture was delivered on the topic “Corrective measures to address Differential Settlements – Case Studies” by Prof.Dr.A.Sridharan, Former deputy director ,IISc Bangalore ,an exceptional talent who has contributed to the growth of Geotechnical Engineering in the country.

The selected finalists from a lot of 35 candidates presented their M.Tech thesis before the judges for the final evaluation on 21st September 2018 at AISAT. The sessions were judged by Dr.Kavitha P E, Associate Professor FISAT and Dr. Jimmy Thomas, Professor AISAT .The authors of the best five thesis among the finalists were honored with certificates of appreciation and mementos.

The AISAT – GRACE award for the best B Tech project was also presented at the same function in the presence of Er.Abhilash Joy, President,GRACE-Kochi

The Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya ever rolling trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 15,000/-, for the best project was bagged by the team consisting of Ms. Manisha Vijayakumar, Ms. Lakshmy S S, Ms. Krishnendu M R, Mr. Joel Joy of Sree Narayana Gurukulam College of Engineering, Kadayirippu. The winners of second prize worth Rs.10000/- were Mr. Shaun Thomas Alex, Ms. Amala V Mathew , Ms. Babitha Davis, Mr. Kevin Shelly Fernandez of Rajagiri School of Engineering and Technology, Kakkanad. Citations were also awarded to the project guides of the winners.