The IGS-AISAT Award, for the best M Tech thesis in Geotechnical engineering in Kerala was awarded to Basil Jaimon of SOE, CUSAT for his exceptional work on  ‘ Laboratory studies on the development of synthetic waste and stability of bioreactor landfills’. The award which comprised of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 10,000/-, was presented to him, by Prof. Dr.G.V Rao, Former professor & Dean, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi during  an august function at the fifth Praphulla Kumar Lecture on August 6th 2016 at Hotel Mercy, M.G Road Ernakulam. The event was jointly organized by Indian Geotechnical Society Kochi Chapter and Association of Piling Specialists, Kochi. Mr. M.D Nair, Chairman, IGS – Kochi Chapter , Rev. Dr. Clement Valluvassery, Manager, AISAT, Dr.Babu T. Jose, Patron,  IGS – Kochi Chapter & Director-AISAT, Dr. Anil Joseph, Secretary, IGS Kochi chapter  and Mr. B.  Chandramohanan, Secretary, APS – Kochi were the dignitaries present for this blissful event. The annual lecture was delivered on the topic “Geosynthetic Reinforced Soil structures-A Critical Appraisal of Design and Construction” by Dr. G.V. Rao, an exceptional talent who has contributed to the growth of Geotechnical Engineering in the country with his excellence in research on Geosynthetics.

_MG_7900 _MG_7901

The selected finalists from a lot of 16 candidates presented their theses before the judges for the final evaluation on 5th August 2016 at AISAT. The authors of the best five theses among the finalists were honored with certificates of appreciation.


The AISAT – GRACE award for the best B Tech project was also presented at the same function. The Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya ever rolling trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 20,000/-, for the best project was bagged by the team consisting of Ms. Merlin John, Mr.Ahammed Kabeer and Ms.Tinu Diamond of AISAT. The winners of second prize worth Rs.15000/- were Mr. Jerin Thomas John, Ms. Gopika Rajeev, Ms. Jinchu Sabu and Ms. Arya Elizebath of Amal Jyothi College of Engineering, Kanjirappally. Ms. Neba C.Tony, Ms.Sandra G.Raj, and Mr. Devdas G of AISAT came third to receive a cash award of Rs.10000/-.Citations were given to the project guides of the winners